fbpx

WhatsApp Messenger rooms is a new video conferencing feature added to WhatsApp after Facebook recently launched it on the Messenger app, as a competing video conferencing platform against the already existing platforms, Zoom and Google Meet.
However, its addition to WhatsApp directly takes users to the Messenger app or the Messenger website, where the feature is currently operational. Users can find the rooms feature at the lower right corner of their Whatsapp call tap — it is included in the list of items on Attach.
WhatsApp Messenger rooms allow users to create and make a video call with over 50 contacts simultaneously.

Advertisements

What you need to know today

  • WhatsApp Messenger Rooms video chats are done outside WhatsApp. Thus, it takes place on Messenger.
  • Users need a Facebook account to create a Room because you must log into Messenger with your account first before you can do so. However, others can join the room via your invite link even if they do not have a Facebook account or the Messenger app.
  • Video chats in WhatsApp Messenger rooms are not end-to-end encrypted like normal WhatsApp video calls, which is also because it takes place on Messenger.
  • WhatsApp Messenger rooms feature on WhatsApp is just a shortcut to Messenger rooms — which means that WhatsApp switches you to the Messenger app or the Messenger website in your browser when you want to create a room or join a room.
  • Using the WhatsApp messenger rooms feature is largely the same across various devices: android phones, iPhones and on desktops.
  • Users need the most updated version of the Messenger app to log in, create or join a WhatsApp Messenger Rooms video chat on the Messenger app.
  • Users can send invitations for others to join a room by just sharing the link with them.
  • You can choose to either lock or unlock your messenger room. If you lock it, it means you have prevented new people from joining the room, but if you leave it unlocked, anyone can join via the invite link.
  • The invite link has no restrictions; anyone can join so far as they have the link, even if you did not send it to them. Thus, the people you have sent the link to can also send it to others without your notice.

For stories of this sort and more, do well to log on to www.jbklutse.com or visit us on Facebook. To report a typo, email the editor: press@jbklutse.com.

Advertisements

Are you enjoying your time on JBKlutse?

Articles like these are sponsored free for everyone through the support of generous readers just like you.

Thanks to their partnership in our mission, we reach more than 100,000 unique users monthly!

Please help us continue to bring the tech narrative to people everywhere through relevant and simple tech news, reviews, buying guides, and more.

Support JBKkutse with a gift today!

JBKlutse's Recommendations

To add to this article or start a conversation, kindly comment below.  Also, you can send your tech stories to info@jbklutse.com and via WhatsApp at +233272839333.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
Share to...