With over two billion users, Facebook keeps battling serious content moderation issues. To help with that, Facebook is setting up an oversight board that will be out of Facebook’s control and will be able to overrule Facebook’s own policies on content management.

Facebook members oversight board
Photo credit: Pixabay

READ ALSO: Facebook postpones naming oversight board members until 2020
According to Business Insider, the company has even promised $130 million to ensure the board is well funded for operation ahead of its complete launch this year. Just yesterday, Facebook unveiled the members of its oversight board while adding that the number of members will continue to grow over time.
See the inaugural 20 members:

  1. Tawakkol Karman
  2. Maina Kiai
  3. Evelyn Aswad
  4. Endy Bayuni
  5. Pamela Karlan
  6. Nighat Dad
  7. Emi Palmor
  8. John Samples
  9. Catalina Botero-Marino
  10.  Michael McConnell
  11. Afia Asantewaa Asare-Kyei
  12. Ronaldo Lemos
  13. Andrs Saj
  14. Sudhir Krishnaswamy
  15. Katherine Chen
  16. Helle Thorning-Schmidt
  17. Nicolas Suzor
  18. Julie Owono
  19. Alan Rusbridger
  20. Jamal Greene.

For more stories of this nature, visit www.jbklutse.com.

Website | + posts