Mobile phones are exciting to use but after a year the excitement around it fades and you start to think of getting a new one. Getting a new Android phone means resetting and selling the old one.
If that’s what you want to do, you are in the right place. This piece will show you how to completely reset your Android phone before selling it. For iPhone users, you can also check how to save space on an iPhone.
Before that, know that this process is irreversible. When you complete it, you can’t get your data back. So you have to be absolutely sure before you start.
How to completely wipe your Android phone
- Head over to the phone’s Settings
- Select System > Advanced > Reset options
- There are 3 options here: “Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth”, “Reset app preferences” and “Erase all data (factory reset)”.
- Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth: Useful if you’re having trouble with connectivity.
- Reset app preferences: Resets all of your app and notification settings to defaults settings.
None of the first two will erase the data on your phone.
- Erase all data (factory reset): This clears the data on your phone.
Kindly subscribe to our YouTube channel
- Hit on the “Erase all data (factory reset)” option to completely reset your Android phone.
- A popup notification will appear to remind you that all your data will be lost. That includes downloaded apps and all accounts you’re currently signed in.
- Just hit “Reset phone”.
- If there is any form of lock on your phone you’ll be asked to unlock before you can continue.
- The next page will ask you for the last time if you really want to reset the phone. Hit the “Erase everything” button to complete.
Now the phone will time a few minutes to wipe everything off it and make the system brand new. It usually takes about 2-3 minutes to complete.
Your phone will reboot and begin with the usual opening questions, such as language, account, network, etc. Once you see those, you’ll know that it’s worked.